Reviews

Add A Review

Rated 4.9/5 based on 73 customer reviews
"I came in having shoulder and back pain. I started seeing Kari Rufica in December 2017. I received surgery on both and continued to see her 2-3 times a week. Kari is very nice and understanding. I am very pleased with the progress as my shoulder is about 95% better and my back is improving each time I have PT."
Nov 03, 2018
"I started going to physical therapy two weeks ago having a hard time walking on my own. Since then I am glad that the pain in my back and hips is gone now. I really would like to recommend Excel Physical Therapy to those who suffer osteo arthritis. They helped me out a lot."
Nov 01, 2018
"When I arrived at Excel PT I had sustained a lower back injury a year earlier. My experience with pain and discomfort on a regular basis especially during the evenings really impacted my life. I was not able to do simple tasks such as lifting light-weight items or being able to pick up my nieces and nephews without significant discomfort. Excel PT staff and process have given me back my life! I appreciate the professionalism and care! I adore the staff's genuine attitude, always on display, always kind and consistent. I wanted to especially thank Kari for always pushing me to the fullest extent possible. It's not always easy to work through an injury especially after an exhausting day of work and just life in general. Kari has a gift with people and she sincerely wanted me to get better (as she does all of her patients-I'm sure) even after I gave her a hard time at the pool! She is always professional and considerate but she also challenged me-which is what I needed. I appreciate her knowledge and insight; she always listened and was willing to try different techniques. I also wanted to thank Maile. Although I only had a couple of sessions with Maile they were well worth it. I experienced such relief which expeditiously enhanced my healing progress. To JC, Jose and the others thanks for always taking your role seriously and not letting me slack off!!! And to Christy-you're the best!!! Excel PT will always be at the top of my list of recommendations. PS: And I can dance again!! "
Nov 01, 2018
"I have been going to Excel for a year now. Maile Bay has been treating my back pain and helped me tremendously. She is so professional and knowledgable. JC has been awesome too. So helpful and patient with everyone. He is truly interested in your well being."
Oct 15, 2018
"I was perfectly fine until one Monday morning when I woke up to go to work and quickly realized that I could barely move. My intense pain kept me from walking, standing or even driving for about a month. The helpful trainers at Excel have been pivotal in my recovery towards getting me healthy enough to return to work as an airplane mechanic. I am now cognizant of my posture and motion continuously. Excel has provided me the tools I need to move forward correctly. Thank you Excel "
Sep 01, 2018
"Hi my name is Luis and I was involved in a car accident. As a result, my movements were limited and I was in a lot of pain. Thanks to Excel therapy and especially to my therapist Keri, I've been able to get back on my feet after 9 weeks of therapy. Thank you Excel, you're the best. "
Sep 01, 2018
"Following a compression fracture and kyphoplasty, I was having considerable pain and decreased mobility and function. After attending a backpain workshop given by Cheryl, I started therapy with her. Cheryl is very well trained in her area of expertise and is an excellent clinician. She identified my sources of pain and weaknesses and put me on an appropriate program. I have had decreased pain and increases function and mobility and will continue with my home exercise program with continuing follow-up visits. I am so grateful I found her, and I highly recommend her. "
Sep 01, 2018
"Before PT, I was unable to sit for an extended period of time without experiencing pain in my low back/ right hip and leg. Throughout PT, Maile informed me of what was occurring with my injured areas. This was extremely beneficial and aided my understanding of why I was experiencing pain. Additionally, she gave thorough manipulation and targeted exercises to fix my posture, aid my mobility, and gain more strength and flexibility. Lastly, Maile gave me homework to practice these exercises on my own in order to prevent future pain in the same areas. I am doing much better and feel very little pain! "
Sep 01, 2018
"I fell in November of 2016 and broke my right hip. Following the hip replacement surgery, I spent 3 months at the Little Company of Mary Rehab facility. Following my discharge, I began physical therapy with Excel, which included both aquatic therapy at the YMCA pool, and in the Excel office. Their work was demanding but I have made steady progress with my recovery and now I can walk normally with no support or cane. I am driving with no issues and am walking my 70-pound Irish setter very successfully. Excel I would highly recommend Excel to anyone with surgical, arthritic or any other movement issues! "
Sep 01, 2018
"I had an accident where I had taken a bad fall. After time my knee was in pain to the point where I couldn’t walk without pain. When I started physical therapy, I realized I was in bad shape; not only my knee was bad but I learned that the back pain I’ve had for years wasn’t normal either even for a person in my 50’s. Physical therapy has changed my life. I have learned to stretch properly and increase my strength and my stamina as well. Thank you to Excel Physical Therapy’s staff. Physical therapy has saved me from having knee surgery. "
Sep 01, 2018
"I had a problem with a pinched nerve in my right hip. It was extremely painful, and I could barely stand or walk. I came to physical therapy and after a few sessions I experienced relief in my hip. My knee was also affected and Kari was really wonderful in strengthening the area. I'm thankful for the care and patience the staff here exhibited. The exercises really helped to relieve the chronic."
Sep 01, 2018
"I came to Excel because of recurring pain in my knee for 2 years. I had been previously seeing doctors but the medicines would only take the pain away temporarily and not fix the root cause. I am very happy that I finally chose to go for physical therapy. Kari was fantastic. She would take great care to listen closely to my concerns and lifestyle changes to determine the best way to treat my pain. She was very open, honest, and caring and I appreciate everything she has helped me with. In the gym, all of the trainers I worked with were great. I worked mainly with JC, who was extremely helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable about how to do the exercises the right way to help me heal better. All the staff that I met at Excel were friendly and welcoming, and they made therapy enjoyable as opposed to something painful. I am hoping that my next physical therapy sessions will be just as wonderful as what I experienced at Excel. Thank you so much for everything!"
Aug 23, 2018
"I had a great experience coming to P.T. I have no headaches. I believe that the P.T. and exercises helped my condition and posture. Before, I could not turn my neck without having pain and headaches. The staff was also friendly and caring. "
Jul 09, 2018
"Everyone here is very nice and helpful. I loved my physical therapist Kari. She was very good at assessing what I needed and worked on my foot to make things better. I have all my home exercises that I will continue with. "
Jul 09, 2018
"Thank you to Maile, Ian, and the aides for helping me get my shoulder back to “normal” after my SLAP repair surgery. When I first started therapy, I was unable to move my arm and and when I could move, my range was limited. I have my range back and I am almost back to my usual routine. Of weight lifting and cross training. "
Jul 09, 2018
"Excel PT is a great place with devoted compassionate people to help pull you through your difficult times of pain and bring you back to your potential "
Jul 09, 2018
"My Excel Pt experience has been great. I recommend them to everyone. When I began, walking and standing were very difficult and painful. Every person is unique. It takes work and time, and you may feel sore, but it is worth it. Everything about P.T. is encouraging and beneficial."
Jul 09, 2018
"No one could pinpoint what was causing the majority of my pain until I started PT here at Excel. Turns out, my pelvis was out of place and likely is what tore the disc in my lower back. My pain levels are still up but I now know how to stretch the affected area out along with how to exercise without aggravating my injury. Other offices made me worse, but Excel boosted me to do my beast. "
Jul 09, 2018
"I am very glad I chose Excel for my physical therapy. I came wearing a boot and had limited use of my left foot, I had pain and stiffness. I can now do almost everything I could do before I broke my foot. Everyone here is very nice and helpful. I loved my physical therapist Kari. She was very good at assessing what I needed and worked on my foot to make things better. I have all my home exercises that I will continue with. "
Apr 28, 2018
"My Team (Maile, Ian & EG) spent months helping me through the pain and stiffness of a shoulder surgery/bicep reattachment, to the point where I have attained close to full mobility and the ability to use my bicep again, virtually pain free. Further, they worked with me for months to loosen a hip that will ultimately need to be replaced but made it much more mobile and functional now. Thank you all here at Excel."
Apr 28, 2018
"In just a few quick words... You guys did magic to my back. After my car accident back in August of 2017 I really had a hard time with my lower back . Thanks to all my visits to Excel therapy which included consultations with Kari and the team of trainers, I am able to live and enjoy my life pain free. You Guys ROCK! Special thank to Kari! She is an amazing PT."
Apr 28, 2018
"When I first came to Excel Physical Therapy I was in extreme pain, recovering from cervical fusion of the C5,C6 and C7. I was restricted in movement and very bad posture. After sessions of exercise, pool therapy, taping and cupping I am back at work with minimal pain I have less restricted movement and I am educated on how important exercise and posture is to my recovery. Thank you Ray and Maile and all the staff for your help and knowledge and helping me recover. "
Dec 15, 2017
"When I came to Excel PT, I had been in pain for over a year. This had curtailed several activities I enjoy such as cooking, shopping, and going to museums because I was very limited in my standing time. Because of Maile's therapy and exercise program, I now have more freedom of movement and much less pain. Moreover, the insight I've gained into the causes of my problems has been invaluable. I'm now much more aware of the importance of good posture and muscle flexibility and their impact on my overall health. I can now stand for longer period and generally have much less pain. I plan to continue my home exercise program and will return t Excel PT as needed to maintain and increase the gains I've made. I'm very grateful to Maile and the staff of Excel PT for their assistance in my road to recovery. "
Dec 08, 2017
"Excel is my third experience with PT and it has definitely been my best. Maile is Excellent and really knows her business. My treatment here has been excellent with good home exercises. I feel I've gotten stronger and will continue with my home exercises until my pain and mobility are back to normal. Thank you Excel"
Dec 08, 2017
"I first came to Excel for post-surgical rehab(Ruptured Disc). With difficulty walking and unable to even stand up straight, the rehab process was tough,long, and worth every bit of ache and sweat. Pool therapy was helpful in the beginning, with improvement to gym exercise to keep my core and back strong. Most importantly, she was able to identify my body's areas of weakness which lead to my injury, so I am able to monitor my body mechanics on my own, keeping myself pain-free, active, and happy. "
Dec 08, 2017
"I am impressed with the facilities and staff. I noticed considerable improvement."
Nov 24, 2017
"My experience at Excel has been amazing. Cheryl, Maile and team are extremely knowledgeable and professional with years of experience. My back has improved greatly since I started here. They genuinely care about getting you healed up and have motivated me to live a healthier life. I would recommend them to anyone! Thank you for your dedication to your patients!!"
Sep 20, 2017
"This is the best doctor's office I have ever been to! I recommend this to anyone that has pain problems. They were able to see my husband and I to discuss our back and knee pain issues the day that we called."
Sep 09, 2017
"My daughter has scoliosis (curvature of the spine) which causes her muscles and body mechanics to be out of alignment. When this happens she has issues with her gait and as an athlete has had several injuries causing her performance level to diminish. Cheryl is an unbelievable Physical Therapist! She understands my daughters issues very well and has been able to perform manual manipulation to "put her back in place" as well as working with her on the correct exercises to keep her core strong which reduces the frequency of this occurring. No one else has been able to do what Cheryl does for her. Her knowledge of scoliosis and her method of treatment are one of a kind, we have not found another therapist who has been able to realign her in this manner. We highly recommend Cheryl and the EXCEL PT team. They are very knowledgeable, kind and will work very hard to get appointments around my daughters very busy schedule."
Sep 09, 2017
"Maile and Ian worked with me after my hip surgery. I was not able to walk after the surgery. However, with the help and guidance of Maile, Ian, and the Excel team, I am walking without pain. Thank you very much for everything. Maile and Ian are the best Physical Therapist. To the Excel team, Amy, EG, Maya, Margarita, Josh, and Cheryl – THANK YOU!"
Jul 27, 2017
"My experience with Excel PT has been very positive. Cheryl is the best Physical Therapist I have ever had. Ian is not far behind. All of the staff are very knowledgeable and helpful. I believe my recovery could not have been as successful anywhere else. I would and I do recommend Excel PT to anyone that I know who need such service."
Jul 27, 2017
"Thank you Maile , Ian, and the aides for helping me get my shoulder back to "normal" after my SLAP repair surgery. When I first started therapy, I was unable to move my arm and when I could move, my range was very limited. I have my range back and I am almost back to my usual routine of weight lifting and cross training."
Jun 07, 2017
"Before I came to Excel, I thought, just another waste of time, another promise of “we can help you”. I was a physical train wreck with pain in most of my body and muscles. Weakness prevented me from doing anything normal. I needed help with everything. Right now, today, I can bend, stand, and walk a lot longer. Excel has helped me strengthen my entire body. I can move in ways that I couldn’t for 25 years. I’m not perfect yet but with the tools (exercise) they’ve given me, I will get there. I believe that using the tools that Excel has given me, I will continue to improve physically, mentally, and self-esteem."
May 03, 2017
"I came to Excel PT having pain in my lower back, lumbar area. I came 2-3x week from Dec. 2016 thru April 2017. Over that period of time, my pain went from 5-6 or higher out of 10, off and on, and now down to 0 at present. I was having difficulty with bending over, backwards, or sideways, and lifting heavy things. I was also in pain when moving in bed. As of today, I am free of pain and moving freely and comfortably in all activities. I rate Excel PT and staff with 5 stars. Cheryl Hanks was my primary PT. I can’t speak highly enough of her; she is so skilled and knowledgeable; friendly, and yet so professional. I am so happy with the results she has accomplished with me. Mya, EG, and Ranita were great in helping me with my exercises; and Amy, all very personable and professional. I really grateful to all the staff and the part each placed in making me comfortable and getting me PAIN FREE! YAY!"
May 03, 2017
""I'am very grateful to the team here at Excel Physical Therapy. When I came I was having alot of pain walking and declining in my activity levels. I was also afraid i was going to hurt more with the therapy, but I was wrong and learned how to engage forgotten muscles slowly without pain with movements and to increase my mobility. Today I can look forward to an improved quality of life.""
Apr 20, 2017
"“I have gone to many different places and people in terms of treatment for 2 back issues. The staff at Excel has by far been the best. I am not just doing exercises to relieve my pain, but learning about my body and therefore furthering my progress. No other place has been as attentive and motivational towards my treatment. I look forward to coming to PT for once!”"
Jan 18, 2017
"“When I first arrived to Excel, I was in quite a bit of pain. After seeing Cheryl, my life changed. First and foremost, she educated me on my terrible posture that was probably the biggest reason for my back/neck pain. Once seeing her a few times and working with Lea and Margarita at times, my pain began to abate less and less. I now feel stronger and have learned to walk with my posture straight. I also have a much stronger core. I will continue working on the reformer at my gym. Thank you all for all you have taught me and for your patience with me as your patient. God Bless you!”"
Jan 18, 2017
"“I began therapy here 3x a week about 60 days after lumbar laminectomy and fusion at L4-5. Post-op right leg and foot pain with weakness and stiffness in ankle and foot. Aqua therapy 2x a week for 4 weeks greatly helped the symptoms. The therapists were professional and attentive to any exercise or movement that increased pain. Today, I can participate in most activities I previously engaged in, especially driving, which was very painful at first. Exercises which were difficult were shoulder... My leg is still weak and have stiffness in foot, although much better. Some leg and knee pain are also present.”"
Jan 18, 2017
"“My name is Madelyn and this is my second treatment at Excel. I am grateful to be treated by Maile and Ian because they care and have made my foot ailment improve so much! Every moment of every session has made me feel better! Maile has been my angel for the past year! Thank you!”"
Jan 18, 2017
"“Love Excel PT. This is the second time I have used them. First time was for a back issue. I called Maile the back whisperer. After office, home and water PT, my back issue was essentially gone and I feel 10 years younger. I feel I get great personalized care here with wonderful expertise by Maile. All the aides are very knowledgeable and make sure that all exercises are done correctly, position of the body being critical to getting the most out of each exercises. Amy, the receptionist, is friendly and knowledgeable. I am now here after a fracture of my foot. I would not go anywhere else. Their name Excel suits this physical therapy office PERFECTLY.”"
Jan 18, 2017
"“I had not had physical therapy before and when the doctor recommended it, I didn’t think it would do much good for my back or knee. I had started stooping because of my back pain and my walking was becoming limited due to my bad knee. These guys are great. They talked me through what was being done and what I had to do on my own. The staff is very friendly. I’m able to get around much better since PT with Excel, and at age 87, it’s great to learn new ways of doing things!”"
Jan 18, 2017
"“Before PT, I had moderate pain and severe numbness in my foot. With hard work and Maile’s help, I’m almost 100% pain free and the feeling in my foot is steadily returning!”"
Jan 18, 2017
"“Without PT, I do not think I would be doing as well as I am. I didn’t realize how much my hips, spine, legs were related to my spine surgery. The therapists are excellent, they may feel like they are causing pain, but they are actually eliminating my pain!”"
Jan 18, 2017
"“Finding Excel PT was one of the best successes of my life. saddled with a hip injury and having tried chiropractors and other PT programs- I was sadly starting to believe that “better” was not going to happen. Then I found Excel, just going to give the PT thing one more try. I can’t believe the progress I have made!! I am stronger through exercises, more confident in my walking, moving, being and I know what to do when I do have occasional hip issues. I am no longer a victim to injury. I have my life back, not 100% but working towards that everyday!”"
Jan 18, 2017
"“I am an R.N., so my appreciation of Excel Physical Therapy runs deep. Thirty years of sporadic P.T. was never able to identify my complex physical challenges. And my new treatment is carefully assessed, reassessed, modified and designed with unparalleled knowledge and precision. Excel is a small office which creates a user friendly, homey experience. The entire staff are sharp, attentive and caring. They feel your pain, they really do! Maile Bay has a DPT from USC. She has joined my heart and soul in designing a treatment plan. Her methodical, meticulous, astute assessment are body specific. I’m not just a “bad back”. My treatment includes office physical therapy and Pilates reformer and pool treatment at the San Pedro YMCA. The 1:1 hands on assessment have identified a turned pelvis, slanted coccyx, scoliosis, hyper-flexibility and “turned off” musculature. The 1:1 manipulates tendons, muscles, ligaments and spine. Parts are literally released of tension, pushed back into place, strengthened or turned on again. Nothing short of miraculous. walk, limp, hobble or wheel yourself in for treatment. Your body deserves only the best. Excel is excellent!”"
Jan 18, 2017
"“Due to surgery as a teenager, my knees did not fully straighten for the last 57 years, which no doubt led to odd compensations in my walking, running etc. At this point, my knees are flexing so that one leg can fully straighten and the other is very closed to also allowing the leg to straighten. Both the pool work and the office therapies have been noticeably effective and I hope to continue until both legs straighten properly and their appropriate functioning is stabilized. It was very fortunate that I began attending the balance class at the YMCA and the instructor is referred from this great facility.”"
Jan 18, 2017
"“I have high-risk prostate cancer. The hormone treatment program that I am on causes fatigue, muscle loss and bone loss. Maile, Mario and the other professionals here at Excel have helped me learn strength training and flexibility exercises that are helping me feel better and stronger. I feel that my time with this good staff has been an important part of my road to recovery.”"
Jan 18, 2017
"I went to Excel Physical Therapy in 2013 and was very pleased with the physical therapy results. Cheryl Hanks put my back and hips in place and gave me exercises to strengthen my core and the muscles to hold the adjustment in place. Orthopedist, Dr. Tiffaney Rogers from Torrance, CA recommended Cheryl as the best Physical Therapist in the area. I understand why, given Cheryl's knowledge and skill and the results. I would recommend her to anyone in need of a Physical Therapist! I recently returned to Cheryl again and have great confidence that Cheryl's skills will bring another good result for me! Thank you Cheryl! May God bless you, your practice, and your entire team for the good you are doing for people!"
Jan 17, 2017
""My PT experiences is great...progressively better weekly with no real set backs. Maile is excellent at explaining the issues and explaining why certain exercises will help or hurt at any given time. Excellent at explaining where why pain is present and how to handle. I've been to many physical therapists in the last 25 years. Maile is among the best--- actually of Excel PT experiences is good. I feel I've made tremendous progress since my first visit at the end of May.""
Sep 20, 2016
""Pain is right shoulder and upper arms, lifting and carrying was difficult and painful. Through carefully thought out exercises I improved tremendously and I feel that with continued exercises. I learned at Excel I can recover completely. Maile was exceptional in working with my injury. The staff also was great and helpful... Thank you!""
Sep 20, 2016
""when I started PT here I struggled with Soleus strength and pelvis stabilization. Through doing the various exercises I found myself stronger and more stable. Also I was able to find more mobility in my spine allowing me more freedom in my dancing. The staff constantly found new ways to push me to keep me challenged.""
Aug 11, 2016
"I am an R.N. so my appreciation of Excel Physical Therapy runs deep Thirty years of sporadic P.T. never identified my specific physical challenges. I had given up on physical therapy until a friend with significant spine and hip issues raved about how she had avoided a second hip replacement at Excel PT. Excel is a small user friendly. The highly trained therapist and aides are sharp, attentive and caring. They feel your pain, they really. Maile Bay has a PhD from USC. She has joined me heart and soul in designing a treatment plan. Her methodical, meticulous, aslute assessment are my body specific. i'm not jus a bad back. My treatment includes office physical therapy and Pilates Reformer. Pool treatment is at San Pedro YMCA. The 1 on 1 hands on assessment, manipulation to strengthen or decrease stress are anything short of miraculous. Maile has pushed, molded pushed, pulled, lifted and stretched. She has diagnosed Scoliosis(MRI verifired) lifted pelvis, turned coccyx hyperflexbility and turned off musculottine. So walk, limp, hobble or wheel yourself in for treatment. Your body deserves only the best, Excel is Excellent!"
Jul 26, 2016
"I came to Excel after have foot surgery that did not heal properly. I had a lot of pain and difficulty walking. Maile and the staff at Excel have been a terrific help in increasing my mobility and decreasing my pain. I still have some work to do, but am hopeful that the foot will be back to normal soon."
Jul 21, 2016
"This is my second time at Excel for two different issues. I chose to come back the second time because I was very happy with my first experience. I find the staff to be courteous, knowledgeable and professional."
Jul 21, 2016
"I would recommend Cheryl at Excel to everybody! I was barely able to move my ankle due to arthritis and had been told by an orthopedic surgeon that I was looking at surgery. Cheryl manipulated the ankle and in no time my ankle was working like it hadn't in months. My hip muscles were messed up from hip replacement surgery and through manipulation and exercise I'm walking better again and am now pain free. My experience has been nothing short of miraculous, and I feel like a new person. I am thrilled with my progress."
Jul 05, 2016
"Extremely happy, especially with the individual attention and making sure exercises are being done properly."
Jun 30, 2016
"“Prior to coming to PT I was not able to perform all of my exercises without pain. I had difficulty doing squats without any pain. Maile helped me to learn all of the proper techniques and strengthen my muscles. Now I feel great and feel confident about executing exercises with proper technique”"
May 31, 2016
""After breaking my ankle, I was unable to move without the use of crutches. Even the smallest movements were painful and required substantial effort. The staff at Excel PT worked with me on a weekly basis to continually increase my range of motion and strength. I began to move more easily within a few weeks, and within a few months, I was able to walk in a normal fashion. The staff was supportive, professional and very effective. I am very grateful for their hard efforts.""
May 31, 2016
"“I’m very grateful to have found Maile Bay and Margarita Vargas at Excel Physical Therapy. I came here with a shoulder rotator cuff injury, which left me with chronic pain and the inability to use my arm to perform ordinary daily activities, which included light lifting and swimming. I would awaken with severe pain in the morning and could hardly move my arm. Maile is a very good therapist that has spent one on one time with me re-educating the mind/body connection with the shoulder blade. The staff gives great attention to form during the exercises and provides gradual exercise progressions, which is crucial to recovery. Maile has been exceedingly patient working with me and repeating information I may not always understand. I have been to three other PT offices in the past, in fact, once for the other shoulder- no attention to form was given, leaving me to do exercises ineffectively. I am no longer in chronic pain and have noticed improved strength. I’ve had poor posture most of my life and feel really excited now to be learning how to use my shoulder muscles properly. The people are friendly, kind and really skilled. This office gets 5 stars.”"
May 27, 2016
""Physical therapy at Excel has helped me a lot! I can now walk down stairs with very little difficultly. My knee will probably never be 100% better, but it has improved tremendously. Thank you so much Maile!""
May 26, 2016
""I am a 40 year old ex-gymnast and ex-professional dancer with a lot of flexibility and tend to get injuries when I don't maintain my strength. I injured my psoas muscle which made it impossible for me to workout, dance or even sit in my usual comfortable positions. Maile Bay worked with me closely at Excel to fine tune the way I recruit various muscles to move my hips/legs, and also corrected postural issues I had that were worsening my condition. I've had a lot of physical therapists over the years to help me with issues related to this injury-but none had caught where my dysfunction was coming from. Maile was able to pin-point what I've been doing wrong and gave me a barrage of exercises in-house and to perform on my own to retrain my body to function correctly. In only a couple of months I feel much stronger and have a lot less pain. In the last 10 years, I've felt like my hips had been getting worse and I had chalked it up to age and over-use. Although those things are true, retraining my body with Maile has given me more core strength than I've had in years and I feel like with continued vigilance, I'll be able to continue dancing for years to come. Thank you!""
May 26, 2016
"“I began therapy at Excel Physical Therapy mid-June 2015. My orthopedist had recommended I undergo therapy to relieve extreme pain in both of my hips after walking moderate distances and up inclines. After approximately 16 sessions with Cheryl Hanks and her staff at Excel, I can now comfortably walk up hills and stairs. Compared to where I started, I would estimate that I have achieved at least a 90% improvement in my ability to walk distances up hill. A side benefit of the therapy was Cheryl’s ability to reposition my spine and hips. This has resulted in the elimination of my backaches when I get up in the morning. I suffered with these for more than 30 years. But my back pain is gone and so are the related back spasms. Lastly, I have suffered with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome for more than 30 years and because of the improvement with my back and hips, I have been able to start a more aggressive exercise program without triggering an episode of CFS. This is also due in part to Cheryl encouraging me to not overdo my exercise routine. When I started with Cheryl we established a goal of walking comfortably for 2 miles at 18 minute miles. I am now able to walk 3 miles at slightly more than 15 minute miles. I still have some mild pain in one of my hips for a short time while walking uphill but it is not debilitating and I expect it to be fully resolved within the next few weeks.”"
May 26, 2016
"I had to have physical therapy several times due to soccer injuries. Each time Cheryl and Maile helped me to recover from my injuries. They were patient and helped me learn how to take care of my body. I am forever grateful. I highly recommend Excel PT."
May 06, 2016
"I came to Excel with a long-term back lower pain issue. I had tried various courses of action to relieve the back pain including chiropractic care, exercise and even yoga. The back pain and discomfort was preventing me from running and doing my other activities comfortably. I was seen by Maile and given a through background regarding my symptoms and level of discomfort, and my activities that increased or relieved my pain. Over the course of several months, Maile developed a comprehensive plan of treatment, exercise and stretching, and guided me to better posture to help relieve my symptoms. The building-block approach started with getting to know my symptoms and then consistently increasing my treatments and exercise to the point that I am virtually pain-free. By being taught how to monitor my pain, I realized that doing certain activities effect my discomfort and I now can pay better attention to my stretching and exercise routine. Maile and the staff at Excel PT have done an amazing job and I highly recommend them. The staff is caring, patient and extremely competent and did a great job with me!!!"
May 06, 2016
"They helped me avoid surgery. I feel great I had a multiple herniation's on my spine, Sciatica, and numbness in my foot. It's all gone now thanks to Maile Bay and the team. I give this office a lot of credit for taking care of me and getting me back on my feet. Thank you."
Apr 30, 2016
"Excel PT is such an amazing clinic! The therapists there are very nice and understanding and helped me heal safely and quickly! I would definitely recommend them to anyone that needs physical therapy treatment!"
Apr 30, 2016
"Excel PT is the best thing since I screwed up my back. Wish it was available & that I had gone prior to injury. Exceptional quality, patience & understanding by all the staff. Excel treats all ages & levels of ability. My pain is becoming manageable with their custom care, exercises, stretches, re-education of nerves & muscles, advice & prompting/"coaching". My Neuropathy is diminishing!! Full spectrum of services, including terrific Hydrotherapy which is incredibly difficult to find & incredibly effective. Maile also teaches awesome Balance classes at the local San Pedro YMCA on Tuesdays & Thursdays. Anyone should utilize any benefits they have here, whether injured or to prevent injuries. You'll be glad you did."
Apr 30, 2016
"I am please to say that based on Cheryl'™s skills, commitment and effort, my mobility has steadily improved, and the pain and discomfort, which I have experienced has all been eliminated."
Apr 30, 2016
"Since my spinal surgery in 2008 I've been struggling to regain lower back strength and range of motion. Pain, falls and set backs were a weekly fight. Since I began my current Physical Therapy program with Cheryl, I've made remarkable improvements in my range of motion, overall balance, strength and endurance. Pain is finally being managed, and my current PT is a factor. I've had Physical Therapy with other therapists in other treatment programs while recovering from spinal surgery. As a therapist, Cheryl has the ability to make a detailed insightful and clear evaluation of my overall condition, pin point my weaknesses, and my poor habits which previously hindered my improvements. The muscle and tissue work I have received has reduced my experience of physical pain."
Apr 30, 2016
"I hope all is well with you and all the crew at Excel PT. I have been back at work for about two weeks now and I feel my wrist has improved some. It'™s a bit stronger with more flexibility although I do feel some twinges of pain every now and again. I truly want to thank you and everyone who had a hand in my therapy. I seem to be on my way to a full recovery and I owe it all to you all at Excel Physical Therapy. When I broke my wrist I had some doubts that I would never be able to do a push up again but with your guidance I have now progressed to doing 5 regular push-ups in my daily work outs. I know that doesn'™t sound like much, but for me and my wrist, it's a great start to being able to get back to where I once was. I totally recommend you and Cheryl and the whole crew to anyone who needs a helping hand getting their body back to where it once was with physical therapy. Please say hello everyone at Excel and have a great summer, I sure am!"
Apr 30, 2016
"I am a 78-year-old male who, in the spring of 2009, experienced severe lower back pain. The results of an MRI during this time showed that I had multilevel degenerative disc disease (DDD L2 thru L5). I spent the next several years in physical therapy, pain management, I underwent several epidural injections, had two surgeries, and more PT. These efforts only provided very little relief. After 6 months of the exercises and therapy I was basically on my own and was fairly positive about my condition. However, within 2-3 months after my discharge, the severe pain returned. The results of a CT-scan indicated that DDD was now present at the L5-S1 level. MORE SURGERY OR MORE PHYSICAL THERAPY WERE THE ONLY OPTIONS. I decided on the therapy. My surgeon referred me to EXCEL Physical Therapy. This was the right choice. I have spent the last year with EXCEL in both on land and in aquatic therapy. The entire EXCEL staff has supported me in my recovery process. Their professionalism, sense of caring and dedication has been remarkable. This experience has been extremely beneficial in my improved mobility, pain reduction and stamina. I would especially like to express my appreciation to my Therapist, Dr. Maile Bay. She has been very thorough and patient with me in this recovery process. Based on my overall experience with EXCEL I highly recommend their services."
Apr 30, 2016
"I have had numerous injuries to my body, and have been to many Physical Therapists. Most of the therapy never really helped me. But then I started therapy at Excel Physical Therapy. The staff at Excel Physical Therapy is friendly and knowledgeable. Cheryl is a very compassionate person and loves her career helping others. She not only helps you to feel better physically, but also mentally. She never makes you feel rushed. Her positive attitude helps you realize that although it takes time to heal, she is on your team and will never give up. In this world, it’s hard to find a good person with a great heart that really cares about the patient. I know I am going to be one of her success stories."
Apr 30, 2016
"I have been a patient of Excel Physical Therapy for a few different injuries. I suffer from chronic back pain, and have recently had my knee replaced. The care that I received has allowed me to maintain a high quality of life with little to no pain. The entire staff always conducts themselves in a professional, caring and thoughtful manner. Their dedication to patient care is what allowed me to continue to lead a normal active life, and I would highly recommend them to anyone who finds himself or herself in need of Physical Therapy."
Apr 30, 2016

Patient Testimonials

Anita B

I asked my doctor for Physical Therapy because of the pain and stiffness in my hips and legs. It was hard to work, bend at the hips and stand for long periods of time. The therapists and trainers at Excel are caring and professional with all aspects of my therapy. They explained what was happening with my condition and how to manage it. The exercises were giving me relief of pain and strengthened my muscles.

Although Osteoarthritis has no cure, at this point it is so much more tolerable. I’m almost pain free thanks to the professionals at Excel PT.

– Anita Belas

My experience has been great I was so stiff and walked unsteadily. Now I feel more sure of my steps and my legs and core are stronger. It had been 2 years of surgeries and healing, I’m a lot better. Thank you!

– Laura Abrams

Hi my name is Luis and I was involved in a car accident. As a result, my movements were limited and I was in a lot of pain. Thanks to Excel therapy and especially to my therapist Keri, I’ve been able to get back on my feet after 9 weeks of therapy. Thank you Excel, you’re the best.

– Luis Pequino

I asked my doctor for Physical Therapy because of the pain and stiffness in my hips and legs. It was hard to work, bend at the hips and stand for long periods of time. The therapists and trainers at Excel are caring and professional with all aspects of my therapy. They explained what was happening with my condition and how to manage it. The exercises were giving me relief of pain and strengthened my muscles.

Although Osteoarthritis has no cure, at this point it is so much more tolerable. I’m almost pain free thanks to the professionals at Excel PT.

– Anita Belas

Before coming to Excel PT I couldn’t walk right for long periods, I would fall on the floor after waking up almost every day.

Now I feel better, I can walk better, I can finally sleep through the whole night without waking up from pain. And most of all I am happy with my treatment and feel no pain. Before I used to have to ask for help for simple tasks but now I don’t need to ask for help when carrying things and I can now walk and straighten my leg.

– Amalia Maldonado

Ian and Maile Worked with me after my hip surgery. However, with the help and guidance of Ian and the Excel team I am walking without pain. Thank you very much for everything. Ian and Maile are the best physical therapists. Thank you to the whole Excel team.

– Bindu Vaish

My experience has been great. I was so stiff and walked unsteadily. Now I feel surer of my steps and my legs and core are stronger. It had been 2 years of surgeries and healing, now I’m a lot better.

– Laura Abrams

Your staff is amazing! They are so nice and so helpful. I especially really like Kari. She is so great at what she does. Such a lovely person and explains very well. Maile is also excellent in the pool. She makes sure that I’m doing it correctly, really watches me and is so encouraging. Her dance background has really made a difference. JC is also fabulous and really a nice guy. I’m so glad I found this place; I’ve had other PT not nearly as good as here.

– Carol Ellestad

I had pain in my right shoulder and upper arm. Lifting and carrying was difficult and painful. Through carefully thought out exercises I improved tremendously and I Feel that with continued exercises I learned at Excel I can recover completely.

Maile was exceptional; in working with my injury. The staff also was great and helpful.

– R. Robertson

I am happy I came here, I’m moving a lot better with still a little bit of pain but I’m going up and down stairs much better. The experience that I have here at Excel was very pleasant and I don’t mind coming back twice a week.

– Nikolina Naumovski

I had severe sciatica in both legs. It was acute in my left leg and chronic in my right. I was having a lot of trouble sitting for work. I have tried other PTs but Maile has been wonderful. I am now pain free and we have moved on to further my mobility and strength of my knee (3 years post-op). I am so glad someone referred me here. I will recommend to others.

– Michele Patterson

My experience here at Excel Therapy has been a big help, didn’t solve my heel problem but did help release a lot of tension from my foot and leg. They were really stiff but after PT it has improved a lot. Thanks to all the wonderful staff for their hard work and effort.

– Micheal Padilla

I came to Excel Therapy having pain in my lower back. I came two to three times a week from December 2016 to April 2017. Over that period of time my pain went from six out of ten to zero at present. I was having difficulty with bending over or backwards or sideways, lifting heavy things, even with pain and moving freely and comfortably in all activities.

I rate Excel Therapy and staff with five stars. Cheryl Hanks was my primary physical therapist. I can’t speak highly enough of her; she is so skilled and knowledgeable, friendly and yet so professional! I am so happy with the results she has accomplished with me.

– Maureen Young

When I first came to Excel, I had great difficulties in almost all aspects of my life. I needed help with just about everything especially when it came to my hip and back pain. I couldn’t even get off of the ground without help. Thanks to Excel I am more independent, I don’t have to have someone with me all of the time. With Excel’s direction and exercise plan. I get off the floor by myself, do ten push-ups and can walk farther than I used to.

I believe that using the tools that Excel has given me I will continue to improve physically, mentally, and in self-esteem.

Thank you Excel

– Geri Johnson

After a disabling automobile accident three years ago I was searching for options to improve my limited mobility, range, muscle strength etc. I was referred to excel physical therapy through one of my doctors.

In the last three months I have made large scale improvements. From very limited abilities of basic needs arm and leg needs, I have increased range motion in arm and leg strength, extension, rotation and improved flexibility of my damaged lower pelvis and spinal area.

I am now walking straighter than I have in many years and without pain. I am able to reach up into a cabinet and pull down a glass or lean over without pain. I’m able to get in and out of the chair without pain.

I still have setbacks along the way and a long way to go , but thanks to the professional skills and dedicated commitments from Maile , E.G. and the entire excel PT team I have renewed hope for a better quality of life in the coming days.

For anyone who is suffering from painful limited mobility and quality-of-life concerns, take it from someone who has spent the last three years trying to find options to heal, and visit Excel PT for a consultation exam. Their team could help solve your problems and improve your overall quality of life and outlook as well.

God bless all of you at Excel PT.

– Mario Palladini

Patricia Klink

About two years ago I broke my right hip and it was replaced. After intensive Physical Therapy at the rehab facility at the hospital Excel took over and did more exceptional therapy in the pool at the YMCA and at their offices. I am walking better than ever now. Recently I fell and dislocated my right shoulder. Excel once again has excelled in providing physical therapy throughout my rehab and recovery. I am able to do all my normal activities with no restrictions at this point. I am very grateful for the excellent care I have received at Excel.

– Patricia Klink

Christine Lorde

I injured my rotator cuff while building a roof extension over my horse’s corral. I dealt with the pain and limitations for months before seeing a doctor. He referred me to physical therapy and so at the advice of a friend, chose Ex cel. I started with Excel Physical Therapy on June 13, 2017. The staff was very ehlpful with getting me to the point I’m at today. That is not thinking or feeling the pain. I want to thank all That were a part of my success. You are awesome!

– Christine Lorde

Judy Platus

My lower back was in pain when I came for P.T. Maile gave me exercises to strengthen the weak muscles where the pain was centered. Over time the exercises were modified to adjust to my needs. Finally, a series suited me. I am basically pain free. I am basically pain free. I continue at home with the exercises that helped and am pleased to graduate.

– Judy Platus

Physician Testimonials

Family Medicine

“I have been extremely satisfied with the level of service my patients have received at Excel Physical Therapy.

Patients have been happy with the clinical outcomes.

Keep up the good work!”

– Andres Jimenez, MD
Individual results may vary

Orthopaedic Surgeons

“Excel Physical Therapy has done a great job treating my patients!”

– Kenneth Park, MD
Individual results may vary


“My patients have been very happy with the treatment they’ve received at Excel Physical Therapy. I appreciate their high level of service and care.”

– Tiffany Rogers, MD, MPT
Individual results may vary